Tier Two

Briarcliff Manor Union Free School District

Briarcliff High School’s National Social Studies Honor Society Inducts 48 New Members

Briarcliff High School’s National Social Studies Honor Society Inducts 48 New Members

Just before the Thanksgiving Holiday, the Briarcliff High School Rho Kappa National Social Studies Honor Society inducted 48 new members.

The executive team of the chapter, led by seniors Ian Gualtiere, Alexa Fiore and Jessica Gordon, conducted the ceremony, along with the help of Assistant Principal Daniel Goldberg and teachers Laura Gualtiere and Stephanie Buatti.

Mr. Goldberg spoke of the mission statement of Rho Kappa.

“Rho Kappa Social Studies Honor Society is the only national organization for high school juniors and seniors that recognizes excellence in the field of Social Studies,” he said. “Our Rho Kappa chapter provides national recognition for our outstanding students, and encourages an interest in, understanding of, and appreciation for the social studies. Your work demonstrates the qualities of industry, initiative, and reliability.”

Honor society advisor Ms. Buatti quoted President Theodore Roosevelt in her speech.

“The entire school community recognizes our new inductees with great pride for having attained this distinction. To quote President Theodore Roosevelt, ‘In any moment of decision, the best thing you can do is the right thing. The worst thing you can do is nothing.’ We trust that our Rho Kappa members embody the advice given by President Roosevelt,” she said.

Students eligible for Rho Kappa membership must: 

Have been in attendance at the school for the equivalent of one semester; have completed four semesters of courses in the field of social studies and be prepared to complete at least six semesters; and have an overall cumulative GPA of 3.0 or the numerical equivalent.

Congratulations to the new inductees!

Karina Bar

Gordon Beckler

Joseph Berger

Connor Bohan

Jayna Borrelli

Markus Bures

Sofia Choudhri

Luke Dennis

Chris D’Onofrio

Maryum Faisal

Alex Fenimore

Zoe Franks

Gautam Gupta

Jared Haberman

Lexa Halpern

Noah Hirschhorn

Brooke Isola

Jonathan Iwai

Diana Jones

Rian Kelmendi

Jordan Kratz

James Kuhn

Sebastian Lai

Austin Lee

Jack Lucarelli

Hudson Ludwig

Sebastian Male-Diaz

Angelina Meng

Elise Nakahara

Noah O’Neill

Nina Phillips

Sam Plitt

Van Prigozen

Miles Prosperino

Leahna Rodriguez

Rylie Roth

Tristan Rutman

Adrianna Scanga

Lily Shafiroff

Erin Shine

Mirabel Soloman

Nathaniel Tanen

Adya Tiwari

Edmund Tsou

Benjamin Unger

Nico Vargish

Sabrina Venezia

Tobias Young