444 Pleasantville Road, Briarcliff Manor, NY 10510
914.769.6343

Susan Howard - Principal


Announcements


Parent-Child Book Club

Click Here for more information

 


7th grade hearing screening on Monday, February 3rd.


Middle School Yearbook Deadline Has Been Extended!

If you have not ordered your 2014 Middle School Yearbook now is your chance!  The December 15th deadline has been extended.  Please see attached flyer on how to order your yearbook.  Don't miss this opportunity - if your Yearbook is not pre-ordered you will not be able to purchase one in June.  Any questions please contact Laura Gualtiere - lgualtiere@briarcliffschools.org

Yearbook Order Form

 


Your Cyber Life Presentation

Click Here


Welcome Back!  

Team Leaders
Grade 6 - Julie Gallagher  jgallagher@briarcliffschools.org  488-8383
Grade 7 - Nancy Kress  nkress@briarcliffschools.org 488-8408
Grade 8 - Alicia Moraitis amoraitis@briarcliffschools.org 488-8344 and
Austin Perry aperry@briarcliffschools.org   488-8413
Sara Day, Guidance Counselor sday@briarcliffschools.org 488-8224



Happy Spring Break! The faculty and staff at BMS wishes all our families and happy and healthy recess.  

Earth Day
Earth Day arrives on Tuesday, April 22. Across the middle school, we are enjoying the arrival of spring and incorporating wellness and Earth Day activities into the curriculum with the guidance of our local “Green Team.” Some plans include:

•All students and staff are invited to wear green on Tuesday.

•Food services will feature a special menu emphasizing healthy options on Tuesday.

•Throughout the week, teachers are encouraged to bring classes to Academia, our outdoor classroom.

•Students will work on planting flower beds in Academia this week. We welcome the donation of outdoor plants and flowers. Donations may be dropped off in the main office. 

 


 

From the Library
Cybersafety means a lot of things - it includes cyber bullying, sharing passwords, being safe about sharing information and much, much more. Here are a few sites that may be helpful in talking to your child about online/real life balance and other cybersafety topics.

• ThinkB4U is a series of web safety videos and tutorial from Google in partnership with ConnectSafely, Net Family News and Common Sense Media. There are sections providing parent, students and educators with information regarding protecting online reputations, avoiding scams, texting mindfully research strategies and critical thinking. http://www.thinkb4u.com/

• Thatsnotcool features videos, games and other features that help get the conversation started about what is safe on line, and what's not okay, regarding relationships. There are "callout cards" to help identify behaviors that may be problematic. There's a question and answer section and a tab called Need Help where students can find more information and resources on relationship abuse. http://www.thatsnotcool.com/

•Choose What Happens Next is a series of linked videosin achoose-your-own-adventure style. The viewer must decide what to do at the end of each video to play out the consequences of each decision. http://ow.ly/n3VB8

• Admongois a game and curriculum designed to educate preteens about forms and methods of advertising. It helps students distinguish between advertisements and actual web content online. www.admongo.gov 

 
Dates to Remember

April 25 – Pizza Day

April 30 – May 2: State Assessment in Mathematics 
Middle School Forms
Saturday, April 19, 2014